I realize that “detox” isn’t entirely accurate, since I’m cutting back gradually, but I just like the sound of it.

 

Today is my fourth full day of operating on 75mg a day, which is half my prescribed dosage.  I take the generic, NON extended release pills, which conveniently have a ridge in the middle that makes them easy to cut in half.  Since it’s not the extended release version, I take it twice a day, so I get 37.5mg in the morning after breakfast and then 37.5mg after lunch.

 

So far I have to say I’m quite pleasantly surprised at the apparent lack of withdrawal-type side effects.  Apparently having half of what it’s used to is good enough for my brain & body.  So far so good.

 

The only drawback so far seems to be that I feel more tired in the morning.  Effexor, unlike the Prozac that I took through most of my mental health travails, has a stimulant effect that has been quite helpful to get me going in the morning.  I have been taking the drug as soon as I get to work in the morning, and within 20 minutes or so I feel pretty well wide awake.  Cutting the dosage has decreased that “up” feeling somewhat.

 

My plan is to do this extremely slowly.  I don’t want to rush it and find myself having some kind of serious narcotic breakdown.  I will keep at this dose level for 30 days… at that point I will have to decide if I want to cut the pills into quarters, go through all the trouble of getting my doctor to prescribe me the smaller pills, or just say the hell with it and stop taking the drug entirely.

 

I believe 37.5mg is the smallest dose available, so even if I get my doctor to send in a new prescription I’ll still have to cut the pills in half.

 

But I’ve got 26 days to make a final decision on that.  Or more, if I get scared and decide to keep up the 75 for a bit longer!

