Wasting time on Wikipedia one day not too long ago I came across the concept “hyposexual.” More specifically it is “Hypoactive Sexual Desire Disorder,” a bona fide sexual dysfunction (as per the DSM-IV) “characterized as a lack or absence of sexual fantasies and desire for sexual activity.”

I made a note to myself to bring it up with my therapist when I see her next week.

I have sometimes wondered if my sex drive is defective in some way. Clearly I’m capable of having sex and even marginally enjoying it, but I don’t fantasize, don’t enjoy masturbating, don’t really get horny unless I’m actually physically engaged with someone or the odd occasion where I find myself reading smut online.

I have speculated that my sexual development might somehow have been stunted due to the antidepressants I was taking all through puberty. After all, if they are known to decrease libido, isn’t it possible that taking them as the libido is first emerging could be harmful?

Being on antidepressants now doesn’t help matters I’m sure. And it’s more likely that if I am hyposexual it’s due to psychological issues about fear, shame, body image, etc. Hopefully I will remember to mention it to therapist, because I am curious to hear her opinions on it. Plus it will enable me to segue into another topic I’ve had questions about for some time…

